Self Empowerment for Women

Self-esteem, relationships, domestic violence, abuse

Bruises fade… Pain does not~

Women…..

Have you ever been the one that has to hide the embarrassment of abuse?

Have you ever been the one that has to wear extra makeup so that no questionable looks will fall upon you by every passer by?

Have you ever been the one that has become very good at creating somewhat believable  stories explaining the bruises that continue to return?

Have you ever wondered just how many more bruises will have to be endured and fade away before you say, ‘ENOUGH’ ?

Funny how once a bruise is faded away, the pains caused to a victim are so easily forgotten.

It is almost as if that faded bruise has just cleared the way for the abuser to add another.

So true is the saying, ‘Out of sight…Out of mind’

So true is also the saying, ‘ Abusers will abuse … because they can’.

~D~

April 8, 2011 - Posted by | Abuse

3 Comments »

  1. Oh my goodness………I just read my life……pain that is so, deep that I can not put it into words. In a few sentances here I feel not so alone. I am not making a mountain out of a mole hill…..I am not trying to get more attention. Maybe I have a right to feel the way I do after all. But even now I can hear the old tape running through my head…..just be quiet, no one will believe me, etc. Sigh….I plug on because of my wonderful kids.
    Thanks for giving words to my inner pain.

    signed
    Not worth/good enough…even for my Mom

    Comment by kM | June 10, 2011 | Reply

    • Nobody, in 2 years wanted to comment on this article?? I am surprised and saddened at the same time. I am not directing this towards the writer……I just thought someone else would come out of the shadows even if only for a moment and leave a comment to what the above article speaks about

      Comment by KM | July 15, 2013 | Reply

      • Hello KM…. It is rare that an actual victim will reply. However, these messages are reaching out to them and I have faith that they are in some small way helping victims find courage to change the situations of abuse they find themselves in.
        I appreciate and thank you for taking the time in reading my article and sharing your thoughts`

        Comment by Dorothyl | July 15, 2013


Leave a Reply

